On Nirvana, Kurt Cobain, and Nevermind’s 20th Anniversary

Today marks the twentieth anniversary of the release of Nevermind, unquestionably one of the most influential albums of the modern age. One wonders what Nirvana frontman Kurt Cobain would say about the milestone were he still alive today. Here are three theories.

Nevermind

1. “I’m glad to see the album still holds up after all these years. I was quite surprised by its success, but I’m pleased to know it remains highly regarded as a work of art.”

Smells Like Teen Spirit

2. “I’m a bit uncomfortable with those who claim the album single-handedly changed music in the 90s. After all, Nirvana was just part of a wave of new artists who connected with a generation. I prefer to think we were simply a part of a greater movement, not the movement itself.”

Come As You Are

3. “Help! Get me out of this box! I can’t breathe! Help!!”

