Nifty Halloween YouTube Thing: Somebody’s Watching Me

Confession: The video for Rockwell’s “Somebody’s Watching Me” scared the bejeezus out of me when I was a kid, and it’s still a little creepy to me now. It starts with that disorienting first-person POV and the shot of the newspaper in Chinese, which always threw me off – everything seems normal and I don’t think he’s in China, so what’s with the newspaper and oh god everything is just slightly wrong here. And then the bit where he sees himself on TV, and the people on TV look back! And the zombie mailman, and the pig on a plate, and faces in clocks! The whole thing has a sweaty paranoia (fitting, I suppose) and a complete lack of logic that unnerves me still.

And that’s not even counting the sight of Rockwell in the shower. *shudder*

